Vanuatu Supreme Court Judge, Oliver Saksak issued orders yesterday for the 19 Members of Parliament (MPs) whose names were announced by the Speaker of Parliament, Gracia Shadrack, on Tuesday that their seats were affected by the Vacation of Seats Act, to return to Parliament tomorrow morning.

Judge Saksak heard Mr Robert Sugden in relation to an urgent ex parte application and upon reading the sworn statement of Edward Nalyal in support thereof, together with a sworn statement of urgency and undertaking as to damages.

As there are no objections by Mr Nigel Morrison and Mr Fredrick Gilu to the application and order sought by the applicants, and upon Mr Morrison proposing, without objections that the Speaker of the Parliament be added as interested party to the proceeding, the judge made the following orders:

The applicant be allowed

Until further orders of the Court, the Speaker of Parliament is ordered to not take any steps to implement, in any way, his ruling dated 8th of June, which is in all respects is stayed in respect of all the 19 applicants; and

the case shall be returnable for a Rule 2.8 conference at 10am this morning, 10th of June 2021.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.