Presidential Election

The body of the late President Baldwin Lonsdale is taken to Bauerfield Airport and flown to his home-province of Torba for burial. The notice for holding the election for his successor was issued a short time that.

The election of the new President of the Republic of Vanuatu will be held on July 3, 2017 to replace late President Baldwin Lonsdale who died suddenly in the early hours of Saturday, June 17, at the Vila Central Hospital in Port Vila.

The writ for the election of the next Head of State to the Electoral Commission to organize and hold the election was signed by the Chief Justice, Vincent Lunabek, on Monday, June 19.

It was made public through Radio Vanuatu and other media sources an hour after the plane that took the President’s body left Port Vila for his home-Province of Torba in northern Vanuatu for burial.

The writ commanded the Electoral Office to make all necessary arrangements for the holding of such election in accordance to the law and directed that the poll be taken on the 3rd day of July, 2017 in the National Parliament at Port Vila, Efate.

In accordance with the issuance of the writ, the Electoral Commission subsequently issued a Notice for the election of the new President of Vanuatu.

“Following the sudden passing of His Excellency the late Father Baldwin Jackson Lonsdale, President of the Republic of Vanuatu, and following the vacancy in the Office of the President, the Chief Justice, Vincent Lunabek, pursuant to Section 1 and 2 of the Election of the President Act (CAP. 104) has issued a writ for the election of the President on the 19th of June, 2017.

“The date for the election of the President is Monday, the 3rd of July, 2017,” the Notice reads.

“Nominations for Presidential Candidates pursuant to Form B (section 3) may be lodged with the Town Clerks of Municipalities or with the Secretary Generals of Local Government Councils or with the Principal Electoral Officer at the Electoral Office in Port Vila by 4.30pm on Wednesday, the 28th of June, 2017.

“The election of the President shall convene on the 3rd of July 2017 at 9.00am at the Parliament House in Port Vila.”

The notice was made in Port Vila on Tuesday, June 20, 2017 and signed by the Electoral Commission members – Martin J. Tete – Chairman, Linnes M. Tarianga – Member and Pastor Shem Temar – Member.

The Electoral College that will vote a new President is made up of the 52 Members of Parliament, the Presidents of the Local Government Councils of the six provinces and mayors of the three municipalities of the country.

Jonas Cullwick, a former General Manager of VBTC is now a Senior Journalist with the Daily Post. Contact: [email protected]. Cell # 678 5460922

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.