At least seven MPs who signed the motion of no confidence in Prime Minister Charlot Salwai, have written to the Speaker, to withdraw their support.

Minister of Lands and President of the Graon mo Jastis Pati (GJP) Ralph Regenvanu confirmed this yesterday.

“The motion was lodged with the required number of signatures, even though the Speaker received by that time, the withdrawal of signatories from at least seven MPs which reduced the number of signatures,” he said.

“Nevertheless, the speaker declared the motion to be in order so parliament will debate the motion on Wednesday next week.”

He said two GJP MPs have signed the Opposition Bloc’s motion of no confidence but the majority of GJP MPs support PM Salwai.

Changes in political appointments this week included former Leader of Government Business MP Fred Tasso, replaced by his GJP colleague MP Gillion William.

GJP MPs Albert William and Tasso who have signed the motion, remained with the Opposition bloc throughout the debate of bills in Parliament yesterday.

On the onset of reports that the motion was deposited, minister Regenvanu confirmed that none of the GJP MPs have been sacked from the party.

GJP, whose numbers increased to eight MPs with the swearing in of MP Uri Warawara at the beginning of the 2nd Extraordinary Session, currently commands six MPs, in the absence of MP William and MP Fred Tasso.

The minister clarified speculation surrounding the number of its MPs, to Vanuatu Nightly News' Kizzy Kalsakau.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.